10.10.19 -  Joanne C.  -  Burbank

I had the pleasure of working with Roger on two projects -- and will definitely be back for more! I had a telephone bench reupholstered. Roger's selection of durable, easy care and beautiful fabric made the decision easy. The precision of the work and comfort of the seat are impeccable. Next I had a different project - adding built in cupboards to add storage space in my dining room but having them blend into the background. The cabinets are hand built with an amazing paint finish. Everything is flush, the hardware works effortlessly and the interior shelves are very sturdy. I couldn't be happier. I should add that sketches were drawn and changes made so it was completely clear how the unit was going to be built.


7.7.19 -  Dan G.  -  Los Angeles

My second job for Roger at Form + Function was refinishing a Scandinavian moderne coffee table. This piece has moving parts. There are 2 hidden leaves and a lever assembly that lifts the top to dining table height. The top had been etched by fruit juice and had a hole where a set pin pushed through the veneer. It would take skilled people to make it right.

Once again, Roger demonstrated his ability to roll with the punches. The first pass was not a color match to the original finish, so Roger had it refinished a second time at no additional cost. The final finish was absolutely a perfect match, and all of the offending blemishes were gone. This old table has never looked better.


6.19.19 -  Mathew W.  -  Santa Clarita

I knew they weren't a boat upholstery company, but I wanted something plush and high end for my power boat. I called around to many upholstery places but based on the reviews and pictures of their work I only wanted to work with them.

I had an idea of what I wanted, sketched it on paper and picked out the fabric and Roger and his team literally did exactly what was in my head.

It was so beautiful when I picked it up, unfortunately he wasn't there to thank at the time (they were closed, but an employee ran up anyways after hours to let me pick up my pieces).

The service was great. The price for what I got was great. I will absolutely, beyond any reasonable doubt be using them over and over again.


5.29.19 -  Michael R.  -  Santa Clarita

I highly recommend Form + Function. Roger and his team did an outstanding job on our reupholstery project. I would definitely use F+F again. Detailed Quotes * No Surprise Charges * Helpful Guidance * Quality Work


5.10.19 -  Ally W.  -  Los Angeles

We could not be more pleased with the work Roger did! 

I bought a really nice 1 of a kind sofa from someone online 13 years ago. But after a decade of wear and tear it needed some TLC. Roger and his staff were great! The work was done on schedule and it looks amazing. I was able to keep my 1 of a kind sofa instead of replacing it with something with no character. 

If you want quality work done at a reasonable price-point, this is the place!


5.7.19 -  Shannon P.  -  Los Angeles

Great working with roger and form/function. Easy direct communication and transparent process throughout. This was a small job but he's earned our trust for larger projects and custom furniture. Look fwd to working with roger again.


4.12.19 -  Lynn H.  -  Glendale

I was looking into having three chairs reupholstered and after reading great reviews about Form and Function I decided to call them and had the pleasure of speaking with Roger.  I'm very glad that I chose Form and Function to do the work.   Two of the chairs were reupholstered in turquoise leather and they look awesome and make a real statement in my home.   They did a fantastic job on each piece.  Roger was very patient, easy to work with, and he also got my chairs done in a very reasonable amount of time.   I've had other pieces reupholstered in the past from a different company and wasn't nearly as happy with the results and the overall experience as I am with Form and Function.  BIG THUMBS UP!!


3.6.19 -  Cherie J.  -  Burbank

So happy with the work Roger and his team did! He will be my go to from here on out.


1.31.19 -  Dan G.  -  Los Angeles

My assignment for Roger and his Form + Function crew was to build a table to fit a 40 square foot alcove in my old Hollywood house---an odd semi-circle that arrived in a 1970's renovation.  The table would be 6 feet long, 18 inches wide and bent at 135 degrees in the middle.  The legs had to support that weird angle, and the top had to be stained to match the finish on a pair of black Stua chairs.  There was nothing like it on the market, so the only option was a custom build.  I collaborated with Roger on the final design and the development of key details during construction, and every one of his ideas was smart and effective.  He knew when to step in and when to step back.  Ultimately, he solved the main problem of design, suggesting a simple and elegant box-truss arrangement to support the top.  The result was a massive statement that reinvigorated an awkward space, hand-built by actual American craftsmen right here in Los Angeles.  Everything about this says yes.


12.10.18 -  Meredith P.  -  Los Angeles

We had the pleasure of working with Roger on fabrication of some custom dining bench I designed for a restaurant project. Roger was patient, resourceful, and very careful to make sure that every piece was built exactly to my specifications. When we looked at reengineering the piece to make it more sturdy for commercial use, he came with great ideas, and really enhanced the structural design of the piece. I would Recommend Form + Function to any designer looking to work with a quality shop here in Los Angeles. Can't wait to work with him again!


11.21.18 -  Warren B.  -  Brentwood

Loved working with the folks at Form + Function. I had three custom sized leather cushions made and they came out amazing! Roger always responded to emails very fast and was a pleasure to work with


10.4.18 -  Kevin B.  -  Burbank

I hired Form + Function to do a custom built full wall unit/wine wall for our dining room area of the house. After getting a few outrageous quotes and poor communication from other groups, I had these guys come out and access the area and type of unit we were striving for. I was confident after looking at the custom furniture they had built on their website and discussing what material options we had etc.

We started the project with them and had great communication throughout the entire process (which is rare out there). If they were unsure of anything, they would either email us for clarification, or schedule a time to come over and show us a particular section of the unit to give us the chance to make modifications, which we did. We received numerous updates on where they were with the project and got it done within the time frame that we had agreed upon.

The finished product is beautiful. It looks like a $15,000 Restoration Hardware wall unit. Every time I look at it, I am amazed at how good it looks. They couldn't have done a better job. They took the time to install the wall unit with precision and made modifications to accommodate our not so perfect walls. 

We will definitely be hiring these guys again as we have a few more cool ideas. They will also be reupholstering the cushions on our outdoor patio set this winter.

I highly recommend Form + Function if you couldn't guess from the review.


8.15.18 -  Marnie K.  -  Los Angeles

I had 2 mid-century chairs reupholstered here and they are BEAUTIFUL.  They have a great in-house selection of fabrics to chose from. They were also able to stain / paint the legs of the chairs. The workmanship is fantastic! Roger was very helpful and kept me updated on everything. Highly recommend!!!!!!


8.10.18 -  Virginia E.  -  Los Angeles

I found Form and Function on Yelp, and the good reviews led me to the right place.

Roger was able to upholster some down-feather couch cushions I had and insert a down-alternative that feels like the same thing. He did a rush order for me, because I needed the cushions soon, and in about a week I picked them up and they looked brand new! The store front does not look like a normal store, and you enter around the back, but the organization of the business and Roger's excellent communication are that of a large business. 

If I need more upholstery, I will definitely contact Roger again.


7.30.18 -  Ashlee B.  -  Los Angeles

As personal organizers and decorators, we wanted a company that would provide a beautiful product that was within our clients price range and timeline for her project. 

Roger at Form And Function was very communicative, and worked within all of our needs to create a beautiful and product!  They were able to make slipcovers for our client's Pottery Barn couch, arm chair, ottoman, and even the pillows and cushions!  It looks like a brand new couch by the time they were done, and even offered pick up and delivery of the items. 

Couldn't be happier with the experience we had with Form and Function, and we know we will have projects for them in the future!


7.13.18 -  Ali C.  -  Los Angeles

great work! we loved the way our benches turned out


7.5.18 -  Laura G.  -  Tujunga

Form + Function did a great job on my mid-century chair. The re-upholstering was done perfect and they had the perfect material too. 
Roger was easy going and on top of everything every step of the way. Love how our chair upholstery turned out! 


6.26.18 -  Casey L.  -  Sherman Oaks

They are amazing!  I cannot stop talking them up, and even my family friends up in northern California wish they could bring their stuff down to have them do it!  It truly is amazing and I'm so impressed with their work and I already have a potential project for them for my room! 


5.2.18 -  Sandra C.  -  Burbank

My ottoman was so incredibly tired looking that I thought that there was no hope, but I love a good comeback! Enter Form + Function and they saved my ottoman. It is so amazing now that it actually looks better than when it was first conceived. Thank you Roger and your talented team. It is gorgeous and every detail on point. Now...what else can I revamp??


4.28.18 -  Marc L.  -  Sherman Oaks

We are so very glad we found Form + Function. They have made three custom pieces for us and we are just about to start on a fourth.

Roger is very detail oriented and is an excellent communicator, his partner Miguel is a fabulous builder as well.  We had two particular places in our house that didn't seem fit anything -- we wanted a hutch but nothing we saw had the right dimensions. Roger talked with us on email, sending pictures and sketches back and forth and visited our home twice before starting the build. We ended up with a lovely hutch, a built in kitchen bookshelf and a beautiful matching curved cabinet / floating shelves in a nook in our living room. They are stunning and wonderfully built.

We thought we were splurging, but it turned out the cost was only somewhere between Pottery Barn and Restoration Hardware -- AND the quality is discernably better AND because Roger checked back with us so diligently throughout the process we got furniture and built-ins that we really love. 

Check them out before and after your visit to RH or Pottery Barn -- we are very happy we did.


2.15.18 -  Israel J.  -  Burbank

Rare it is these days to find a service that performs work as expected so when a company goes above and beyond, I feel compelled to share that experience with others. Such was the case with Roger from Form & Function. We purchased some rather expensive fabric from a leading furniture company for the purpose of having some upholstered pads made for a banquet bench in our newly remodeled kitchen. I was hesitant to put it in the hands of just anyone but upon my initial email communication with Roger, I knew we were in good hands. He was highly responsive, offered great input and ideas, came to our home to measure and advised as to how much fabric would be needed. All this for what I deem a very fair and equitable price for their services. He finished the project well within the estimated completion time (2 weeks) and even went as far as to deliver the cushions in person to insure proper fit.

We were more than pleased with the overall quality of work and when we subsequently took one of his pads back to the furniture store to pick out some accent throw pillows, they were equally impressed with the final product to the extent that they asked for his information in order to refer future clients. I would say that's a testament to their work. Based on our experience, it is without any hesitation that I recommend Form & Function to anyone looking for a reputable, honest and reasonable custom boutique furniture company.


1.1.18 -  Hudson S.  -  Valley Village

I needed a shelf built for my wife, that would stand on top of the piano given to her by her parents.  It's a simple piece, but I wanted it to match the piano's color and finish as exactly as possible.  Roger at Form+Function answered my query quickly, was very clear in his communications and, most importantly, his men created a beautiful piece of workmanship that looks like it was an original part of the piano.  Couldn't ask for a better outcome.


10.20.17 -  Mia W.  -  Los Angeles

Form + Function gets EVERYTHING right. This is an operation whose culture is care and craftsmanship. Whether you want to commission a piece, have a piece repaired and restored, or buy an existing piece, you can rest assured that you will receive quality all the way. I should point out that I have known the owner for years, and can testify to the quality of his character. He is kind, decent, and caring. These qualities are exhibited in every facet of Form + Function.


10.17.17 -  Nathan L.  -  Los Angeles

We needed some repairs and re-upholstery for four pieces of furniture. The folks at Form + Function gave us reasonably priced options, were clear throughout the consultation, repair, and delivery process - even sending us pix of the repairs in progress. They were always very responsive and informative with questions, and did wonderful work. Worth every penny.


10.15.17 -  Allison M.  -  Los Angeles

I'd been looking for someone to build a custom dining bench for me for quite some time, and had hit nothing but roadblocks. I originally went to Sofa Interiors because of their numerous Yelp reviews, but it wasn't going well (see my review there) so I decided to start my search over. I came across Form + Function and decided to give them a call. It started off well, because Roger not only answered the phone, but he was polite and gave me realistic expectations. I emailed him my list of what I wanted, some reference photos and measurements, and he actually emailed me back, which seems to be unheard of in this industry.  He also gave me some design recommendations, which I ended up taking. 

I met with Roger the following week, to go over a design plan and give him a deposit. He gave me the option of providing the material, or he had many to choose from as well. I decided to choose the material, since I had something specific that I wanted. He then came out to my house to measure before he started manufacturing. Once he started building the bench, he also kept me updated on the status (again, not typical in this industry.)

It took a few weeks to build, and I'm so glad it didn't work out with Sofa Interiors, because Roger gave me exactly what I asked for.  The attention to detail is impeccable, and the bench is not only sturdy, but beautiful!


8.1.17 -  Mariah L.  -  Venice

Had two chairs reupholstered and four pillow custom made. Roger was incredible and his team was such a dream to work with. Easy, fast, great pricing and the product spoke for itself. We are in love with our new chairs and am so so so happy that we went with Form + Function. If you want great service and an incredible custom piece, definitely go to them.


7.6.17 -  Jason M.  -  West LA

All I wanted was a large kitchen prep table with two shelves underneath, one with enough clearance for a microwave.  I spent hours searching the internet with no luck.  I decided to consider going custom, but I was skeptical because I never have and I did not want to spend an arm and a leg.

I contacted Roger at F+F about my request, and my budget.  I wish I had started with him - it was so easy!  After a few weeks I had exactly what I wanted at a very reasonable price, and the table is beautiful.  It's looks like I spent 3x as much as I did.  I'd highly recommend spending your money here, it's well worth it.  Cheers


6.10.17 -  Michelle S.  -  Toluca Lake

You know that chair or couch that you absolutely love... nothing more comfortable... but time and perhaps pets have not been so kind to it... WELL, NO WORRIES, there is now Form + Function that gives you the new piece of furniture or built in that will be what you can't wait to come home and curl up on ... and wait, best of all, Roger of Form + Function will help you with design details and also has books and books of fabrics and leathers to choose from... I couldn't be happier with the couch, chairs and slipcovers that Form + Function made for me.  It was so easy from ordering through delivery.  I love Roger and Form + Function.


6.5.17 -  Bebe B.  -  Glendale

We just had a beautiful custom Sofa built by Form + Function. It was a pleasure working with them to design and build our dream sofa. Every detail was exactly as I asked and Roger was very patient with all my decisions and changes. We had a few meetings to decide on the exact feel and look of the sofa. It's a beautiful piece and we are extremely happy.


4.23.17 -  Priscilla C.  -  Los Angeles

Working with Roger and his team was a great experience and they exhibited such wonderful customer service that I find so rare. I am a jewelry designer and he made me a custom display for my farmers markets and shows. This is my first time making something custom like this and Roger was very patient and helpful all through the way. The product he gave me was beautiful and functional. 2 thumbs way up.


4.20.17 -  Matthew T.  -  North Hollywood

Rodger and his team went above and beyond to repair and breath new life into a wicker patio love seat that had a lot of sentimental value for me and my family. They were timely, professional and reasonable! I would highly recommend their service. Thanks Rodger!


4.19.17 -  Anne F.  -  Pasadena

I needed an old sofa reupholstered and they did a great job.   It was very well done and the price was very reasonable.   They delivered and finished the job earlier than the original estimate.


1.22.17 -  Erin L.  -  Sherman Oaks

Thank you all so very much for making my dream a reality! You have all done such a fantastic job and the final product has far exceeded my wildest expectations.  And a very special thank you to Roger for taking a chance on me. I've learned so much and am so grateful for this amazing opportunity!


9.14.16 -  Barbara S.  -  Los Angeles

Roger is easy to talk to and Francine at Form and Function did a really nice upholstery project for me. I needed cushions remade because the original manufacturer had made them the wrong size and the were too soft. The original had 3 cushions but I wanted two of the cushions to become 1 large cushion. They we able to use the existing fabric and it turned out great. Now I have 2 nice large cushions that are the correct size and make the whole sectional look great. I will be hiring them again soon.   


8.25.16 -  Linda G.  -  Reseda

Great result! Quality workmanship, exceptional price and accurate turn around time. Best upholstery I've ever had!! Would recommend to everyone!! 


2.2.15  -  Stella H.  -  Los Angeles

I've had quite a few pieces built from them. As a designer, it's great to have a place to go to get your designs made from a smart team. So far, 2 sofas, 3 sectionals, a bed & a dining table. So much easier than shopping around town. Their lead times are very reasonable too. Most of my projects are in LA, so it's pretty cool to keep this as a local resource.



9.29.14  -  Matthew P.  -  Los Angeles

I had several pieces of furniture made in addition to a few vintage pieces re-upholstered and drapes and pillows made.  I was very happy with the quality of workmanship, communication, and service. Jen was great to work with and I highly recommend for anyone looking for upholstery or custom furniture.



8.25.14  -  Grace G.  -  Studio City

Having used several upholstery shops over the years, 25 & counting, it is refreshing to find a workroom that has been so responsive to my alternative design ideas and with good input of their own.  We hashed through several ideas using a mirrored tapestry for a headboard and the net result was truly beautiful and the craftsmanship equally so.  Jennifer and Roger are great professionals and designers in their own right.  Did I mention that they deliver on schedule or before!  A good, no great find!



4.19.14  -  Shane E.  -  Burbank

What a find!  The San Fernando Valley has a shop on par with pricier establishments on the West Side, but less attitude and a much better value.

They made a custom sofa and ottoman to match designs I came up with (parts of it were kinda out there), and it was finished in no time, and looked and felt great. But the ultimate test... my girlfriend loves it too!  

They have a small showroom displaying the kinds of stuff they make, and it was pretty cool to see. The folks working there were super friendly, quite knowledgable and made my experience pretty great on all counts.  Worth coming back for more projects, and worth recommending to my friends/family and my Yelp community.  :-)



4.2.14  -  Brenna S.  -  Los Angeles

We took our our six sad, old dining room chairs to Form + Function, and they gave them new life! Now I have a long line of tired furniture desperate to get in there! We just went there for upholstery, but their custom furniture designs are bespoke -- really inspiring stuff! Also, they were quick, personable, and just really nice people. (And terrifically patient with my fabric indecision!)

Jennifer & Roger: We'll see you again as soon as I can get back downtown for more fabric! : )



3.28.14  -  Tom P.  -  Los Angeles

Wonderful, speedy, easy-to-work with upholstery shop that saved my dining room chairs! They have great taste, great suggestions, and saved me a ton of money! Highly recommend.


12.13.13  -  Wayne W.  -  Sherman Oaks

It isn't always easy to find an upholstery shop that not only actually does what they say they're going to do, but does it in such a timely manner. We had a lot of couch cushions that needed to be refilled and took them to Form + Function. The people could not have been more friendly or more helpful and they took care of us in the nicest, most professional way. I would recommend them to anyone and everyone and if you want an original design, too, they can definitely help you with that as well.


10.22.13  -  LA W.  -  Los Angeles

Really cool manufacturing shop. They call it their 'design lab' . You can get pretty much anything made from tables & cabinetry to sofas & other upholstery.  It's very old-school craftsmanship (run by young people!) which you don't find these days. Really beautiful pieces there.